The Artist’s Way Wrap Up, An Emotional Clearing Exercise & Chasing Tails

Percy!

December 2012 Thought of the Month:  BALANCE

Is it just me, or is this time of year most especially a flurry of busy?  I feel like I’ve been chasing my own tail.  And when I finally grab it, I realize I’d rather be chasing it then gnawing on it.  (“Wow, where is she going with this” you ask….)     I guess what I’m trying to say is I’ve been feeling somewhat overwhelmed lately.

My tweet today was this:

“I’m attempting to take my own #advice:  Don’t let a million things on your to-do list stop you from doing one or two things.”  (If you’re on there too come say hi – I’m @AynsleySaxe)

Yup.  I’ve been feeling busy.  In a way that makes me think I need to dig deep and figure out what’s going on, on the inside.

I’m realizing more and more I have an artist heart, a marketing head (or at least thoughts about marketing my music recently) and a dog’s tail (figuratively speaking!).  I need my creativity, my business sense and I need my fun & amusement.  I need them all daily (like vitamins), or I will feel somewhat annoyed, aggravated, burnt out, shot down, weighted with a gray cloud of disillusionment, boredom, stress or saturation surrounding me.  Perhaps if I let this dark cloud get bigger, I may forget what life is for: Slurping the most happiness out of life you possibly can, every day.

Don’t get me wrong, I know not all days are going to be happy.  But at least with that as my intention I will remember what makes me grin, what gives me energy, what fuels me.  Move over gas stations, we’ve got happiness pumping into us and there are a whole lot of  air miles that come with this puppy.

I did finish Julia Cameron’s The Artist’s Way last week.  Well, finished might be a bit of an exaggeration.  I read it.  I didn’t do all the tasks (I’d like to meet the person that has).  But I stuck with those morning pages and I absorbed as much as I could from her message of being true, kind and real with your creative inner-artist.   (If you are interested in reading about my journey here are my last three blogs about The Artist Way: Sacred Alone Time and My Pre-Artist DateMorning Pages, Affirmations and My Artist’s PrayerHasta La Vista Resistance to the Artist Date (and my upcoming album))

Truly, that book is like a gourmet meal.  You indulge.  And then sometimes you feel like you’ve had enough because your stomach is rumbling. It’s the kind of book I think I will read over and over throughout my life because it has the potential to effect beautiful change when you dive in and do the work.  Digging into the exercises for me felt like the self-meeting-the-self; at times surprising, often moving, and as challenging as I wanted it to be.   I’m stamping it with my five star sticker “Very nurturing and satisfying.”

One of the most beautiful things that came out from my experience with The Artist’s Way was the support group that I found at the beginning of it.  Back in September I mentioned to a few people that I was thinking of diving in.   One friend said she’d like to join me.  Then suddenly the number went from 2 to 5.  We spent an hour on Monday nights on a free conference call service listening, sharing, laughing and urging each other onward through the weeks.  It struck me that people throughout the world can do this.   You can create your own safe support network.  Just put the word out to the universe and see who shows up.   Plus you can do it in your pj’s from your living room while leaning on fuzzy pillows.  Now that’s nurturing!   We were accountable to ourselves and accountable to each other.  From my experience with a successful Toastmasters Club, I know that when we show up for each other, without realizing it or even intending it, we show up for ourselves.

IMG_2815

In addition to finishing The Artist’s Way, I was recently given a great, easy emotional clearing exercise I’d love to share with you.  I practice/teach Reiki and I’m always looking for new wonderful ways to align with greater well-being.   Here are the steps:

1.  Do this exercise standing up.  This will help you feel more powerful.

2. Feel whatever you want to clear inside you.  If it’s anxiety, feel it where it resides in your body.  If it’s fear feel it.  If it’s anger, feel it.  You can imagine what it looks like if you want.

3.  Raise your arms out in front of you. Your hands vertical and palms away from you.  Then retreat your arms back and bring your palms towards to you at chest level, as if you are about to push something away.  Set your intention. Then say “I destroy and uncreate this now (what ever emotion you are feeling) on the count of 3……one, two, three.”  On three push out.  Do this 3 times.

4. You might feel like you want to incorporate your breath into pushing this out of you and exhale on the count of three quickly (with sound if you want to).  You can also imagine what you are clearing exploding into a billion pieces out in front of you, crumbling and being swept away from you for transformation.

Once you feel clear of this emotion, you can imagine filling the space where the emotion was with love, peace, happiness, light (whatever you feel you need).   You might want to do this with different feelings – i.e, after you clear anger, sometimes another emotion will be in you like sadness.  Clear them all and have fun with it!

Remember:  You’re an incredibly magnificent being.  This universe loves you more than you can possibly imagine.   May the love you send out be sent back to you a thousand fold.

Whatever occasion you celebrate, I wish you a very happy, health-full, magical and peaceful holiday.  I very much look forward to connecting with you next year.

Peace, love & blessings,

xo Aynsley

About Aynsley Saxe

Aynsley Saxe is a Canadian Singer/Songwriter, Reiki Teacher and writer with a passion for sharing inspiration. As a Canadian singer/songwriter, Aynsley's debut album, Take Me As I Am, was released April, 2013 in Toronto to a fire-capacity crowd. Her album has been noted as "incontrovertibly smooth, playful and refreshing" and her songs can be heard at AynsleySaxe.com. Aynsley's highly anticipated 'Thoughts of the Month' book (a compilation of inspiring messages and strategies for self-reflection) and 'Into the Light' (a CD of guided meditations and accompanying music created by Aynsley), will be available in 2014.
This entry was posted in Inspirational Thoughts, Music, Reiki, The Album Is Coming!, The Artist's Way, Thoughts of the Month and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Artist’s Way Wrap Up, An Emotional Clearing Exercise & Chasing Tails

  1. Bryan says:

    Great post! I love the tweet…

Leave a Reply

